Here are the winners of the Sinulog 2015 Grand Parade!

Congratulations to all the winners.
Posted on: Sunday, January 18, 2015

Co-Written by Julie Ann Canopin

Tribu Buyoganon and Kulturang Placereno are the big winners in the just concluded Sinulog 2015 Grand Parade at the Cebu City Sports Center.

Tribu Buyoganon of Abuyog, Leyte took home the P1 million grand prize for topping the Free Interpretation category.

Kulturang Placereno 

While the Kulturang Placereno of Placer, Masbate took home the same amount for ruling the Sinulog Based category.

Tribu Buyoganon 

Lordinio Vergara, the chairman of the board of judges, said that Tribu Buyoganon nailed this year’s Free Interpretation title because of the overall balance of their dance. He added that their costume enhanced their dance and their stage craft also awed the judges.

Basak San Nicolas’ Lumad Basakanon garnered the 1st prize in the Street Dancing competition which also comes with a P1 million grand prize.

Lumad Basakanon got the nod of the judges because their performance was consistent in all seven areas where the judges were stationed, according to Chris Millado of the Cultural Center of the Philippines. He further added that they had steps identified only to them.

The seven judging stations were scattered all over the about six kilometer carousel route: University of San Carlos (main campus), Department of Education City Division, Lorega, City Loft Condominium, Light House Restaurant, BDO Fuente and the PNB Bank.

Millado added that the top 5 winners in the Sinulog Based was an almost unanimous decision, “it was nose to nose, it was a very close fight.

Judges Lordinio Vergara (seated, right) and Chris Millado in a press conference after the announcement of winners at the media center of the Cebu City Sports Center. 

Below is the list of winners of the Sinulog Grand Parade 2015:

Sinulog Based

1st – Kulturang Placereno, Placer Masbate
2nd – Tangub City, Sinanduloy Cultural Troupe
3rd – Carcar City Division
4th – Tuburan National High School
5th – Talisay City Cultural School

Best in Musicality – Carcar City Division

Best in Costume – Tangub City, Sinanduloy Cultural Troupe

Free Interpretation

1st – Tribu Buyoganon Abuyog, Leyte
2nd – Tribu Lingganay, Alang-Alang Leyte
3rd – Tribu Himag-Ulaw Placer, Masbate
4th – Tribu Catbalogan Catbalogan City, Samar
5th – Lumad Basakanon Basak San Nicolas, Cebu City

Best in Musicality – Tribu Buyoganon

Best in Costume – Tribu Lingganay

Street Dancing Competition

1st – Lumad Basakanon
2nd – Tangub City, Sinaduloy Cultural Troupe
3rd – Kulturang Placereno, Placer Masbate
4th – Tribu Buyoganon, Abuyog Leyte
5th – Tribu Lingganay, Alang-Alang Leyte

Float Category

1st prize – F-10 Contempo Property Holdings, Inc.

2nd – F-08 M. Lhuillier Philippines

3rd – F-06 Palawan Pawnshop

Higante Category

1st – H-33 Festival Queen

2nd – H-19 Dagul and Son

3rd – H-20 Sinulog Prince and Princess

Puppeteer’s Category

1st – P-12 Angelique Aranas

2nd – P-17 Jeffrey Borres

3rd – P-01 Nino Ruben Mateo

Visual Merchandising Category

1st – Golden Gate Value Properties Inc. Parkmall

2nd – Elizabeth Mall

3rd – Metro Gaisano Colon





Freshly Brewed

Live Blog